Guilty As Charged

 

Guilty As Charged

I had to stop the noise
for it had become my failures
from which there had been
no pause for escape
so that I could settle
my scores of ill fate
hidden within human frailties
when I realized who are
we really competing up
or against?
all these imaginary battles
in this hard fought
but easily lost race
other than ourselves
and in that moment
I didn’t even recognize
until I wiped the
condensation off
the bathroom mirror
that it was the woman
in the mirror staring
back at me
with that harsh
judgmental look
upon her face…
—©g.a.meeder, 2017®

 

 

Leave a Reply

